Sunday, November 28, 2010

The Invisible Order, Book One: Rise of the Darklings

Early one morning hurrying along a dark alleyway, orphan Emily Snow makes a discovery. She chances upon a fight in which none of the participants are above knee height. She also meets Mr. Ravenhill, a tall stranger with an uncanny habit of sniffing out lies. Emily is happy to mind her own business until the night her dear brother William is kidnapped. She then launches into a battle knowing nothing about who to trust and whom she should oppose. To make things worse, its not just William’s fate resting in her hands, it’s all of London’s. This book is a suspenseful fantasy with a wonderful mix of distinguished characters. The well-known characters include Spring-heeled Jack and Oberon thrown in with a few new ones, including the story’s heroine, Emily Snow and her friend Corrigan. I gobbled up Rise of the Darklings, the first book in The Invisible Order trilogy, and I’m impatiently waiting for more.  Paul Crilley is an author with spectacular abilities in writing. I can’t wait to see what he writes next.

Zoe, 11

No comments:

Post a Comment